The University of Tennessee Wind Ensemble will perform "Urban Requiem" by

Michael Colgrass this evening at 8 p.m. in the UT Music Hall. Colgrass,

winner of the Pulitzer Prize for Music in 1978, will supervise the UT

musicians for this concert.

"Urban Requiem" is scored for four saxophones and wind orchestra, arranged

into four groups, or "neighborhoods," as described by the composer.

Colgrass said that the piece was "inspired by the energy and power of our

cities, and the humor inherent in their conflicts."

Speaking about why he chose the saxophone as the lead instrument in this

composition, Colgrass said, "I feel that the saxophone is particularly

well-suited to express the variety of emotions required for this idea,

because it can be not only highly personal and poignant in character but

also powerful and commanding. It can howl like a banshee or purr like a

kitten. In short, the saxophone is perhaps more like the human voice than

any other instrument."

Four years after he received the Pulitzer Prize for the composition "Djˆ

vu," Colgrass was awarded an Emmy for a PBS documentary on him called

Soundings: The Music of Michael Colgrass. Colgrass has studied and

performed with some of the world's best musicians, including Igor

Stravinsky, Lukas Foss, Darius Milhaud and Dizzy Gillespie.

Gary Sousa, director of bands and coordinator of the wind and percussion

areas at the School of Music, will conduct this concert. Also on the

program are "Bandanna Overture" by Daren Aric Hagen, "Who Puts His Trust in

God Most Just" by J.S. Bach, and "Hammersmith" by Gustav Holst.

The UT Music Hall is located at 1741 Volunteer Boulevard. The concert is

free and open to the public. For further information about this or other

concerts at UT, call the UT Concertline at 974-5678.