Students, faculty, staff and alumni of the University of Tennessee were

recognized Wednesday for the hundreds of hours they give in service to the


For contributions beyond that required in their jobs, Chancellor Bill

Snyder presented Customer Service Awards to Mary Boyd, who is retiring after

38 years in the Career Services and Placement Office; Nancy McGlasson, director

of the Center for Undergraduate Excellence; and Johnetta Whitmire, records

specialist with the UT Police Department.

Christine Landry, a senior from Murfreesboro; Beth Mullin, professor

of botany; Maxine Thompson, associate dean of students; Gamma Sigma Sigma

sorority; and the Resident Assistant Staff in University Housing were cited

for community service.

UT employees Pamela Armentrout, Elizabeth Hill and Wade Meadows were

honored for extraordinary service to the University. Meadows, director of

the UT Book and Supply Store, is retiring this spring after 33 years at


Snyder also gave citations for service to the University to Herbert Howard,

associate dean of communications; Milton Klein, professor emeritus of history;

Julia Malia, associate professor of child and family studies; Harry McSween,

professor of geological sciences; and Frank Spicuzza, associate professor

of social work.

Carolyn Payne and Jimmy Shelby received alumni and friends service citations.

Copyright © 1998, The Daily Beacon. All rights reserved.