Excellence in teaching and student advising was recognized at the University

of Tennessee-Knoxville's Honors Banquet with the presentation of awards

to 17 individuals.

Dr. David Etnier, professor of ecology and evolutionary biology; Dr.

Mary Collins Holcomb, associate professor of marketing; Dr. Michael Mullen,

associate professor of plant and soil science; and Dr. Gilya Schmidt, associate

professor of religious studies, are the 1998-99 UT National Alumni Association

Outstanding Teachers.

The alumni association gave its public service award to Dr. Carol Costello,

associate professor of nutrition, for her work with the East Tennessee Restaurant

Association and Knox County Schools.

Dr. Donald Dessart, professor of mathematics and mathematics education,

is the 1998 Macebearer. The Macebearer is UT-Knoxville's highest faculty


Dr. Edward Howley, professor of exercise science, won this year's Alexander

Prize, named for Gov. and UT President Lamar Alexander and his wife, Honey.

Dr. Robert Bodenheimer, professor of computer and electrical engineering;

Dr. Allen Dunn, associate professor of English; Dr. Lee Magid, professor

of chemistry; Valerie Cates, English instructor; and Stanley McDaniel, instructor

of speech communications, were presented Excellence in Teaching citations

by Chancellor Bill Snyder.

Citations for Excellence in Advising went to Beth Barrett of the College

of Nursing; Katherine Proctor, College of Architecture and Planning; and

Dr. Fred Symonds, associate department head of computer and electrical engineering.

Four graduate students were honored for outstanding teaching. They are

Olga Ruiz-Kopp, botany; Claudia Milstead, English; Jennifer Siciliani, psychology;

and Maria Veri, education. All are doctoral students at UT.

Copyright © 1998, The Daily Beacon. All rights reserved.