The University of Tennessee bestowed its highest honor on seven seniors

Wednesday at the campus Honors Banquet.

The Torchbearer awards were given to Rebecca Loney of Knoxville, Travis

Wright of Whitesburg, Tausha Carmack of Bristol, CeCedric Bobo and Jamie

Pizzirusso of Memphis, James Kirkland of Jackson and Andrew Schaeffer of


Loney, an accounting major and Tennessee Scholar, is president of Panhellenic

Council and was recognized as the Outstanding Accounting Student in Tennessee.

Wright, a 1997 Truman Scholar, was one of 20 students named to this year's

USA TODAY Academic All America First Team.

Carmack, a political science major, is past vice president of the Student

Government Association and past president of the Student Senate.

Bobo, a mechanical engineering major, has been active in student government

and currently is SGA parliamentarian.

Kirkland, a Whittle Scholar majoring in history, is immediate past president

of the SGA. He was president of Kappa Sigma fraternity and is a member of

the UT Athletics Board.

Schaeffer, an accounting major, has been active in SGA, the Campus Safety

Program, Interfraternity Council and the First Year Studies Peer Mentor


Pizzirusso, a Whittle Scholar, is a member of the Chancellor's Recycling

Task Force and the Traffic and Parking Authority.

Seniors receiving recognition form campus leadership and service were:

Mark Clark of Knoxville, Gerald Dennis of Seymour; Brandy Miller of Clinton;

and Betsy Bagsby and Charles Holmes, both of Franklin.

The Lady Vols basketball team and the football team were recognized for

extraordinary contributions to campus life. Peyton Manning and Laurie Milligan

accepted the awards for their teams.

Copyright © 1998, The Daily Beacon. All rights reserved.