The University of Tennessee honored its most outstanding faculty and staff Wednesday evening at the 2003 Provost's Honors Banquet.
The Macebearer Award, the university's highest and most coveted faculty award, went to Paul Ashdown, a professor of journalism who has been at UT since 1977. Ashdown has been nationally recognized for his gifted teaching through the Robert Foster Cherry Award for Great Teachers, the Chancellor's Teacher-Scholar Award and the UT National Alumni Association Outstanding Teacher Award.
The Alexander Prize, named after former UT President Lamar Alexander, was awarded to history professor Palmira Brummett. The prize is presented for excellence in teaching students.
James Fitzgerald, professor and associate head of the Department of Religious Studies who has been with the university since 1978, was awarded the Jefferson Prize, an award established to honor the principles of the third president of the United States, Thomas Jefferson. The prize began through an anonymous donation to UT's 21st Century Campaign, and winners receive cash awards.
Howard Polio, professor of psychology who has been at UT for 40 years, received the L.R. Hesler Award for excellence in teaching and service. The award is named for L. R. Hesler, an internationally respected scientist and former dean of the College of Arts and Sciences. The award has been given since 1982.
Faye Harrison, professor and associate department head of anthropology, received the Hardy Liston Jr. Symbol of Hope Award, which honors the longtime UT associate vice chancellor for academic affairs.
The Special Service Recognition award was given to Jane Pope, adviser of student publications, who has worked at UT for 30 years.
Excellence in Advising awards were presented to Richard Saudargas, director of undergraduate studies in the psychology department; Frank Spicuzza, professor and director of advising at the College of Social Work; and Penelope Tschantz, professor of English and acting director of undergraduate studies.
Six faculty members were also awarded for excellence in teaching: Stan Bowie, social work; Maria Handelsman, Spanish; Henry Kattesh, animal science; Vejas Liulevicius, history; Douglas McKinstry, English; and Gregory Stein, College of Law.
For extraordinary community service, faculty and staff members Bruce McKee, professor of biochemistry, cellular and molecular biology; Rosalind Gwynne, associate professor in religious studies; and Michelle Brannen, information technology specialist at Hodges Library, were awarded.
Faculty and staff members were also awarded for extraordinary service to the university. Peter Hoeyng, associate professor of German; Linda Sennett, lecturer in the Department of Speech Communication; Evelyn Cherry, administrative secretary in the Department of Accounting and Business Law; David Pratt, Biology Services Facility in the Division of Biology; and Josh Queener, Video and Photography Division, received awards.
For exceptional customer service, Lori Epperson, a senior IT technologist in the Office of Research and Information technology; and Connie Harmon, assistant director of admissions, were recognized.
Also recognized by the National Alumni Association for outstanding teaching were Michael Fitzgerald, professor of political science; Ted Hipple, professor of education; April Morgan, assistant professor of political science; and Richard Townsend, associate professor of accounting.
James R. Cox Professorships were awarded to Gordon Burghardt, professor of psychology; Marvelene Moore, professor of music; Susan Riechert, professor of ecology and evolutionary biology; and Scott Schlarbaum, professor of forestry.
The NAA Public Service Award was presented to Roger Nooe, professor in the College of Social Work. Michael Knight, professor of English, and Leon Tolbert, professor of engineering, won the Professional Promise award.
Faculty were also presented with the Research and Creative Achievement awards. Thomas Davies, professor of law; Sally Horn, professor of geography; Richard Jantz; professor of anthropology; and Carol Tenopir, professor of information sciences were presented.
Two awards were also given to outstanding women on campus. The 2003 Women of Achievement Award was presented to Lannett Edwards, assistant professor of animal science. The Notable Woman Award was also presented to Judge Shirley B. Underwood, who received both her undergraduate and law degrees at UT and served the longest tenure of any juvenile judge in Tennessee.