Karen Hitchcock, President of State University of New York at Albany
Karen Hitchcock is president of the University at Albany. She was appointed president in April of 1996 after having served as interim president since August of 1995, and also as vice president of academic affairs from 1991 to 1995. Prior to coming to the University at Albany in 1991, Hitchcock served as vice chancellor for research, dean of the Graduate College, professor of anatomy and cell biology, and professor of biological sciences at the University of Illinois at Chicago. Hitchcock spent the largest part of her career at Tufts University and served as the George A. Bates professor and chair of the Department of Anatomy and Cellular Biology of the Schools of Medicine, Dental Medicine, Veterinary Medicine and the Sackler Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences.
Hitchcock received her B.S. in biology from St. Lawrence University and her Ph.D. in anatomy from the University of Rochester, School of Medicine and Dentistry.
Hitchcock has published extensively in her research field of cell and developmental biology and has received numerous grants from the National Institutes of Health. She has also been appointed to numerous NIH study sections, review panels and advisory committees including the National Advisory Research Resources Council. Additionally, Hitchcock was awarded the prestigious NSF Visiting Professorship for Women in Science and Engineering. Hitchcock has served as president of her professional society, The American Association of Anatomists, and completed two terms as a member of the National Board of Medical Examiners. She has also been named a fellow of the State Academy for Public Administration. In Illinois, she was appointed to the Governor 's Science Advisory Committee, and was subsequently elected to its Executive Committee. She also was appointed to Mayor Daley's Economic Development Commission of the City of Chicago.
Hitchcock has served as chair of the Council on Academic Affairs of the National Association of State Universities and Land Grant Colleges, and as a member of the American Association of State Colleges and Universities - National Faculty Policy Review Council. She has served as chairperson of the Capital Region's 1997 and 1998 American Heart Walks, as chair of the Capitol Region Business Hall of Fame (1999), as co-chair of the Albany Capital City Bicentenary Commission, and as chair of the Albany-Colonie Regional Chamber of Commerce.
Hitchcock has won numerous awards over the course of her career, including the Albany-Colonie Chamber of Commerce, "Envoy Salute"; the Girl Scout, Hudson Valley Council's "Trifoil Award"; the Business Review's Achievement Award, "Special Recognition Award"; the American Marketing Association's "Marketer of Excellence" Award; the "Women of Excellence in Management, Public Sector" Award and the "Lifetime Achievement Award" from the Albany-Colonie Chamber of Commerce.
Hitchcock has been active on a number of Boards including the Chicago Technology Park, the Executive Committee of the Board of the National Association of Biomedical Research, the Board of Directors of the National Association of State Universities and Land Grant Colleges, Albank Financial Corporation and president of the Board of Directors of the Capital Region Information Service of New York. She currently is a member of the Board of Directors of Charter One Financial, Inc., the State University of New York Research Foundation, the New York Business Development Corporation, the Center for Economic Growth (Chair), St. Peter's Hospital and Proctor's Theatre. She also serves on the Doane Stuart School's Board of Trustees, as vice chair of the New York State Advisory Council on Higher Education for the State Education Department, and as an elected trustee of the Public Policy Institute of the New York State Business Council. She is a commissioner and elected vice chair of the Executive Committee of the Middle States Commission on Higher Education of the Middle States Association of Colleges & Schools. She is also co-host of The Best of Our Knowledge, Northeast Public Radio (National Productions), and an elected member of The Higher Education Center for Alcohol and Other Drug Prevention Presidents' Leadership Group.