CHATTANOOGA, Tenn. (AP) - Georgia couples used to flock to Hamilton County to say their wedding vows.
Then came a Tennessee law requiring premarital counseling and Georgia's repeal of its blood test prerequisite.
Now, officials say more Georgia residents are staying in-state, and Tennesseans are the ones crossing the border to wed.
As of July 1, 2002, couples applying for a marriage license in Tennessee must first attend four hours of marriage counseling or pay an additional $60 on top of the $37.50 license fee.
The extra money funds divorce education programs, which are required for couples who decide to separate but already have children.
Hasty brides, grooms now head to Georgia
Published: Tue Jul 06, 2004 | Modified: Sat Aug 06, 2005 06:11 p.m.