Students and faculty gathered Wednesday night at the University Center to honor excellence in academics and teaching at the Chancellor’s Honors Banquet.
Interim Chancellor Jan Simek recognized four students as the 2008 Torchbearers, the highest honor conferred to students by the university.
Those honored were Blake Adam Brown, a journalism and electronic media major from Athens, Tenn.; Catherine Elizabeth Cocke, an exercise science major from Somerville, Tenn.; John Noel Rader, a college scholars student from Cookeville, Tenn.; and Anna Rachel York, a global studies and political science major from Crossville, Tenn.
Torchbearers are seniors who are awarded for their academic achievement and contributions to the university and the community.
In addition, Lee Riedinger, professor of physics, was honored as Macebearer, the top faculty honor. An accomplished researcher in experimental nuclear physics, Riedinger has helped to enhance the collaboration between UT and the Oak Ridge National Laboratory. The university’s Macebearer leads the faculty in processionals during commencement exercises.