After posting the fastest wind-aided times in Lady Vol track and field

history on Friday, senior sprinter Kelli White came back on Saturday to

anchor Tennessee's relay teams to NCAA provisional marks and the units'

quickest times of the season in the final day of the Sea Ray Relays at UT's

Tom Black Track.

As a result, she was voted the winner of the Tony Wilson Award, given to

the top female sprinter at the meet. Pittsburgh's Trecia Smith was the

field events winner after winning the long and triple jumps.

White brought home the baton from Tyangela Sanders, Erica Witter and Lesly

Love in the 4x100-meter relay to capture top honors over St. Augustine's,

44.28 to 44.93. In improving their provisional from an earlier 44.42, the

Lady Vols also managed to win the event at Sea Rays for the fourth time in

five years.

As for the 4x400-meter relay, White anchored that group as well, helping

the same foursome to another season best and provisional in 3:37.23. Only

Pittsburgh, at 3:36.49, prevented UT from taking top honors. Still, it was

an improvement over the 3:39.35 clocking registered by Love, Witter, White

and Janelle Briggs at the SEC Quad on March 20.

In the field events, the Lady Vols managed a second-place finish in the

discus, where Diane Slinden clicked off a throw of 167-0 to meet the

provisional distance. Andrea Pappas managed an effort of 164-2 to record a

personal best and take fourth in the same event.

As for the shot put, UT had Pappas come away with third after heaving the

ball 48-7 1/4, while Slinden failed to land a legal throw.

The long jump didn't provide a top-three finish for Tennessee, but it did

reveal Tyangela Sanders' personal-best leap of 18-7 against a wind of -1.0,

which placed her 18th. In the Lady Vols' only other action of the day, the

sprint medley relay group of Heather Sumpter, Marquita Knight, Sara Dalton

and Briggs came in 11th with a 4:03.73 result.

The UT women are back in action this weekend, as they travel to Blacksburg,

Va., for Saturday's Virginia Tech Spring Gobbler Invitational.