In naming Phil Fulmer its 1998 GTE Division 1-A National Coach of the Year,

the American Football Coaches' Association awarded the University of

Tennessee a $10,000 academic scholarship from the AFCA. In addition to the

$10,000 given on the coach's behalf the Vols were also awarded $20,000 in

academic awards for bringing home the national championship.

The awards are part of the $165,000 scholarship program that was created in

1997. Each of the four NCAA division national championship football schools

as well as the NAIA champions were given $20,000 for their efforts. Four

Coach of the Year honors were handed out as well with the school of each

coach receiving $10,000

Assistant Coach of the Year winners were also honored in each of the five

division with each coach's school picking up $5,000.

"One of the primary goals of the AFCA has always been to preserve and

protect the game of football,"AFCA Executive Director Grant Teaff said."Our

Board of Trustees views this scholarship program as another way to achieve

the goal and assist a number of schools at several levels of college

football. This success and recognition of these coaches has opened the door

for their athletic departments to receive these scholarships."

Founded in 1922,The American Football Coaches' Association has more than

8,000 members at all levels of football, from the high school to

professional ranks.