BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - The Alabama Crimson Tide were selected to win the 2000

Southeastern Conference title, in a media poll taken at Kickoff 2000, SEC

Football Media Days, held in Birmingham, Ala.

In a vote of 89 media personnel, the Crimson Tide were named on 61 ballots

to win the SEC title followed by Georgia with 11 votes, Florida with 10 and

Ole Miss with two. Five voters did not name an SEC champion.

In the Eastern Division race, Florida was predicted to finish first,

followed by Georgia, Tennessee, Kentucky, Vanderbilt and South Carolina. In

the Western Division, Alabama was chosen first, Ole Miss, Mississippi

State, Auburn, Arkansas and LSU.

There were no unanimous selections to the preseason All-SEC team. Alabama

wide receiver Freddie Milons and Vanderbilt linebacker Jamie Winborn

received the most votes with 87. Georgia quarterback Quincy Carter received

86 of the possible 89 votes.

For the first time, a first and second-team preseason All-SEC squad was


Tennessee placed six men on the preseason All-SEC team, three on offense

and three on defense.

Running back Travis Henry, a 5-11, 220-pound senior from Frostproof, Fla.,

made the first-team offense. He received 49 votes.

Also making the first-team for Tennessee was offensive lineman Fred Weary

with 33 votes. Weary is a 6-4, 301-pound junior from Montgomery, Ala.

Outside linebacker Eric Westmoreland, a 6-0, 230-pounder from Jasper, made

the first-team defense with 57 votes. He was joined by 5-11, 185-pound

defensive back Andre Lott. Lott, a Memphis native, received 31 votes.

Punter David Leaverton led the Vols with 61 votes to make the first-team

defense. Leaverton is a 6-4, 210-pound senior from Midland, Texas.

Wide receiver Cedric Wilson was the only player from Tennessee who made the

second-team defense with 23 votes. Wilson is a 5-10, 175-pound senior from