Tennessee has been predicted to claim the Southeastern Conference men's and women's basketball championship in a vote of media taken at the 2000-01 SEC Basketball Media Days, held Nov. 1-2 in Birmingham, Ala.
In the men's voting, the Vols claimed 19 of the 30 votes that were cast. Last season, Tennessee was one of four co-champions in the SEC, along with Kentucky, Florida and LSU.
In the divisional races, Tennessee claimed 21 votes in the East to claim the top spot. Kentucky was predicted to finish second, Florida third, South Carolina fourth, Georgia fifth and Vanderbilt sixth. In the Western Division, Arkansas grabbed 23 votes to nab the crown. Alabama was voted second while Mississippi State was third, Auburn fourth, LSU fifth and Ole Miss sixth.
In the women's voting, Tennessee grabbed 14 of the 19 votes that were cast. Last season Tennessee and Georgia were co-champions in the SEC. Georgia was predicted to finish second, LSU third, Mississippi State fourth and Vanderbilt fifth. Florida followed at sixth, Auburn seventh, Arkansas eighth, Alabama ninth, South Carolina 10th, Kentucky 11th and Ole Miss 12th.
The media also voted on preseason Players of the Year and an All-SEC Team.
On the men's side, Arkansas sophomore guard Joe Johnson was a near-unanimous selection as Player of the Year, garnering 24 votes. He was also named on all 30 ballots for the All-SEC Team. Joining Johnson on the All-SEC First-Team are Tennessee senior guard Tony Harris, Florida junior center Udonis Haslem, Tennessee forward Vincent Yarbrough and Kentucky junior forward Tayshaun Prince.
Geoirga junior guard D.A. Layne heads the All-SEC Second-Team. Joining Layne are Kentucky sophomore guard Keith Bogans, Alabama sophomore guard Rod Grizzard, South Carolina sophomore forward Chuck Eidson and Vanderbilt senior center Greg LaPointe.
On the women's side, Tennessee senior forward Tamika Catchings garnered 11 votes to claim Player of the Year honors. She was also listed on all 19 ballots for the All-SEC Team. Joining Catchings on the All-SEC First-Team are Georgia senior guard Kelly Miller, LSU senior guard Marie Ferdinand, Tennessee senior guard Semeka Randall and Vanderbilt sophomore center Chantelle Anderson.
Mississippi State guard LaToya Thomas heads the All-SEC Second-Team. Joining Thomas are Georgia senior guard Coco Miller, Ole Miss senior guard Becky Myatt, Georgia senior guard Deanna Nolan and Auburn senior forward Shana Askew.