The No. 10 Tennessee Lady Vol golf team struggled through a windy final day of the 2003 SEC Championships in Lexington, Ky., on Sunday to finish up in third place after leading throughout most of the tournament.
Tennessee posted a 911 (291-301-319) to give up a four-shot lead coming out of the turn. Auburn captured the team title with a 903 (299-297-307), while Florida finished in second with a 905 (296-296-313). Florida's Aimee Cho overtook Violeta Retamoza for the individual medal with an even-par 216 (72-73-71).
"I am completely and utterly disappointed after today," coach Judi Pavon said. "Our players have not learned that what might look like a bad round can turn into a good round. Bogeys can get the job done at times. We took too many double bogeys and made too many huge mistakes."
Individually, Retamoza fired a one-over 217 (70-70-77) to finish in second-place. The freshman almost overcame a quintuple bogey on the 13th hole but was denied as Cho sunk a birdie putt on the final hole to secure a one-hole triumph.
Junior Mary Jan Fernandez matched last season's finish at the SEC Championship with a career-best fifth-place tying 223 (71-75-77), while team captain Jessica Shepley saw her streak of nine-straight Top 15 finishes come to an end as she posted a 231 (71-78-82) to tie for 16th-place. Shepley fell short of former Lady Vol Abby Pearson's standard set in her initial 10 tournaments.
Tai Perry carded a 241 (76-80-85) for a 38th-place deadlock, while Golda Johansson registered a 255 (84-88-83) to tie for 54th-place.
The Lady Vols now must wait to see where they will head for the NCAA Regionals over May 8 through May 10.
Thompson, Montgomery to represent UT as SEC Scholar-Athletes
Twenty-four student-athletes, one male and one female from each SEC institution, have been chosen by their respective schools as recipients of an SEC Post-graduate scholarship and are finalists for the 2002-03 H. Boyd McWhorter SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award, Commissioner Mike Slive announced Thursday.
Kevin Thompson (track and field) and Kacey Montgomery (rowing) were chosen from Tennessee.
Each finalist will receive a $5,000 scholarship for post-graduate studies. The SEC Faculty Athletics Representatives Boyd McWhorter Selection Committee will choose the outstanding male and female student-athlete and each will receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship, provided by the ALLTEL Corporation.
"The Southeastern Conference and the ALLTEL Corporation are proud to recognize these 24 student-athletes for their accomplishments in their academics and athletics endeavors," Slive said. "These student-athletes have shown everyone what it takes to be a winner in every aspect of life. This group of student-athletes are excellent representatives of their universities and communities."
The SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards were first presented in 1986. The award was renamed the H. Boyd McWhorter SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year in May 1990 to honor the former commissioner who served the conference from 1972-86.
The award will be presented to the two winners in May at the SEC Spring Meetings in Destin, Fla.