The Tennessee Sports Writers Association has named Tennessee football coach Phillip Fulmer its College Football Coach of the Year for 2004.
Fulmer led the Volunteers to a 10-3 season and the Southeastern Conference Eastern Division championship in his 12th full season as head coach. Tennessee was picked to finish third in the preseason behind Georgia and Florida during SEC Media Days in Birmingham, Ala.
Tennessee claimed wins over Florida and Georgia in the same season for only the third time of Fulmer’s career in 2004. He has averaged more than 10 wins per season and led the Vols to a 123-31 overall record. His winning percentage of .799 is the best of any active coach with at least 10 years of head-coaching experience.
Along with Fulmer’s honors, University of Memphis running back DeAngelo Williams took home the TSWA’s College Football Player of the Year honors.
Almost single-handedly rewriting the Tigers’ rushing record books this season, Williams led Memphis (8-4) to back-to-back bowl games for the first time in school history after its appearance in the GMAC Bowl in December. Williams led Division I-A in touchdowns and was second in all-purpose yardage.