University of Tennessee swimmer Christine Magnuson and University of Mississippi tennis player Bram ten Berge have been named recipients of the 2008-2009 H. Boyd McWhorter Southeastern Conference Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award, SEC Commissioner Mike Slive announced Monday. The awards will be formally presented to the two student-athletes at the annual Awards Banquet at the league’s spring meeting in Destin, Fla., on May 28.
The two were chosen by a committee of Faculty Athletics Representatives from SEC universities. Both will receive a $15,000 post-graduate scholarship, provided by AT&T, an SEC Corporate Champion sponsor, and the Allstate Sugar Bowl.
“The H. Boyd McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Award is the highest honor a student-athlete can receive in the Southeastern Conference,” Slive said. “The commitment and dedication that Christine and Bram embody makes them excellent selections for the McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Award. They are outstanding representatives of their institutions and the Southeastern Conference.”
Magnuson, a senior from Tinley Park, Ill., has a 3.68 grade point average and is majoring in exercise science. She is a three-time member of the SEC Academic Honor Roll (winter 2009 honor roll to be announced later this month). She has been named to the Thornton Center Honor Roll (3.0 GPA or higher) every semester at Tennessee and is enrolled in the Honors Program.
In 2008, she was the SEC and NCAA champion in the 100-yard butterfly and was the recipient of the Commissioner’s Trophy after taking four gold medals at the SEC Championships. She was also named the SEC Female Swimmer of the Year and Co-Scholar-Athlete of the Year.
Magnuson earned a silver medal in the 2008 Olympic Games in the 100-meter butterfly and the 400-meter medley relay. She has also placed in the top five in the 50-meter freestyle, the 100-meter freestyle and the 100-meter butterfly at U.S. Nationals. She holds eight UT records, is a multiple-time All-American and has been ranked in the top 20 in the world in the 100-meter butterfly for the last two years.
She is very active in the community, serving as a representative on UT’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee. She has assisted in the SAAC Holiday Dinner for the Homeless, the SAAC Easter Egg Hunt at Maynard Elementary School, the SEC SAAC “Together We Can” canned food drive, and has been a team captain of UT Hospital visits. She has also assisted at the YWCA, Relay for Life and Race for the Cure.
She is the third Lady Vol to receive the prestigious honor, joining diver Lauryn McCalley (2005) and track and cross country athlete Patty Wiegand (1991).